Southeastern Michigan Economic Data Center

Contact Us

Anandi Sahu
Department Chair
447 Elliott Hall
(248) 370-3537
sahu@oakland.edu

Shannon Johnson
Office Assistant
440 Elliott Hall
(248) 370-3283
mjohnson3@oakland.edu

Economics

An Economics major is a flexible and relevant option for students who don’t want to narrow their field of specialization. In OU’s SBA, Economics majors learn how economic analysis applies to major problems facing individuals, businesses, the nation and the world. While preparing students for the workplace, this major also provides an excellent foundation for law school or master’s degrees in public administration, economics or business administration.

The Economics Department has established a strong academic record and tradition. A scholarly journal, Economic Inquiry, ranked it fourth overall in producing the most published works among economics professors in universities across Michigan. Nationally, Oakland University was ranked seventh among comparable schools that offer undergraduate economics degrees.  
Advisory Board
NameTitleCompany
Edward A. Eickhoff - Board ChairSenior Vice President DevelopmentRamco-Gershenson
Valiena A. Allison

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Experi-Metal, Inc.
Alfredo CasabAttorneyDawda, Mann, Mulcahy & Sadler, PLC
Melinda Conway Callahan, CFREChief Development OfficerFocus: HOPE
Allen C. GoodmanProfessor, Director of Graduate Studies, Department of EconomicsWayne State University
Julie GranthenAttorney 
Daniel P. HunterManagerOakland County Planning & Economic Development Services
Stefanie M. KimballChief Lending Officer and Executive Vice PresidentIndependent Bank Corporation
Anandi P. Sahu, Ph.D.Professor & Chair, Department of EconomicsOakland University, School of Business Administration
George SeifertPresidentGeorge & Elizabeth Seifert Foundation, Inc.
Horst SherriffVice President, Corporate BankingPNC Bank
Paul SwansonRetired VP, Human ResourcesTrinity Health
Faculty
Please see the School of Business Administration faculty/staff directory for more information, including office location, link to personal web pages and more.

 
Anandi Sahu, Chair
sahu@oakland.edu(248) 370-3537
Addington Coppin
coppin@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3541
Sherman Folland
folland@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4086
Oded Izraeli
izraeli@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3524
Nivedita Mukherji
mukherji@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2707
Kevin Murphy
murphy@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3294
Ram Orzach
orzach@oakland.edu(248) 370-4965
Jonathan Silberman
silberma@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4966
Miron Stano
stano@oakland.edu(248) 370-3291
Kasaundra Tomlin
tomlin@oakland.edu(248) 370-4975
Ronald Tracy
tracy@oakland.edu(248) 370-3514
Xie Zhu
zhu@oakland.edu(248) 370-2505