man and woman working on an electrical circuit board with wires

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Welcome to the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department!

As teacher-scholars, our faculty are experts in their areas, actively engaged in research activities, and committed to mentoring students in educational and professional endeavors. At the undergraduate level, the ECE Department offers two ABET-accredited degrees, a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) in electrical engineering and a B.S. in computer engineering. Our undergraduate programs emphasize the importance of hands-on experience; many courses are accompanied by laboratory sessions led by faculty and graduate students.

We also offer year-round undergraduate research experiences to introduce students to playing an important role in engineering the future, presenting papers at conferences, and publishing in academic journals.

The Department offers five advanced graduate degrees: Master of Science (M.S.) in Electrical and Computer Engineering, M.S. in Embedded Systems, M.S. in Mechatronics, a Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and a Ph.D. in Systems Engineering. Graduate students also obtain hands-on experience in laboratories created in partnership with companies and government agencies. Graduate teaching and research assistantships are available.

The department has teaching and research labs for coursework, thesis work, research, and corporate use including an Automotive Antenna Range and a Scanning Electron Microscope sponsored by the National Science Foundation’s Major Research Instrumentation Program.

Daniel N. Aloi, Ph.D., Chair
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
School of Engineering and Computer Science
(248) 370-2185

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
446 Engineering Center
(248) 370-2177
Fax: (248) 370-4633

Visit us on social media: Facebook, Twitter, YouTube
Advisory Board

The Electrical and Computer Engineering External Advisory and Development Board assists the department in enhancing its educational and research programs and ensuring their relevance to current and emerging technological needs. Board members are:

  • Ms. Dona Burkard, Research and Advanced Engineering - Vehicle Central Software Manager, Ford Motor Company
  • Dr. Greg Hudas, Program Manager, U.S. Army RDECOM-TARDEC
  • Dr. Anthony D. Cooprider, Senior Technical Leader, Global EE Systems, Ford Motor Company
  • Mr. Byron Gillespie, Director, Intel Corporation
  • Mr. Chris Van Dan Elzen, Vice President, Autoliv
  • Mr. John Schneider, Chief Engineer, Ford Motor Company
  • Mr. Mike Hichme, Executive Director, General Motors Corporation
  • Dr. Housein Dourra, Senior Staff - Powertrain Technical Specialist, Magna International
  • Mr. Paul VanOphem, President, CSM Products, Inc.