OU INC’s Amy Butler inducted into Michigan EIBC Hall of Fame

OU INC’s Amy Butler inducted into Michigan EIBC Hall of Fame
Amy Butler MEIBC
Amy Butler was inducted into the Michigan EIBC Hall of Fame on Nov. 10, 2015. (photograph by Lance Nelson Photography)

Amy Butler, executive director of OU INC and the Clean Energy Research Center, has been inducted into the Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council (EIBC) Energy Innovators Hall of Fame.


Butler, the lone Hall of Fame inductee this year, was among two individuals and six companies recognized with various awards at the organization’s gala on November 10 in East Lansing for contributions to growing Michigan’s clean energy economy.

“The growth of Michigan’s clean energy sector cannot be overstated,” said Liesl Eichler Clark, president of the Michigan EIBC.  “Across the public and private sectors, Michigan is benefitting from investment and leadership by companies and individuals that have helped to grow Michigan’s $7.2 billion clean energy sector. We are pleased to recognize their commitment to our clean energy economy.”


“This is just the third year they have inducted members and it’s pretty special to be the first woman,” Butler said. “It is truly an honor to be recognized for the work I have done throughout my career and currently do with Oakland in the field of energy and energy efficiency.


Oakland University School of Engineering associate Professor Christopher J. Kobus, Ph.D., nominated Butler for what he called her “long-term commitment and continual contribution to the energy industry in the State of Michigan.”


Butler’s started her 20-year career in the energy industry when she worked with the Geological Survey Division in regulation of oil and natural gas production. She then moved into developing energy efficiency programs. She was Chief of the Environmental Science and Services Division and Director for the state’s Bureau of Energy Systems. Now at Oakland University, she is bringing new innovations into the energy sector and helping startup companies develop energy advances for the future.


Butler also announced the Amy Butler and Paul Kennaugh Energy Innovators Scholarship Fund at the gala. This new scholarship will be awarded each year beginning in the Fall 2016 semester to an Oakland University engineering student who is pursuing an education and career in an energy-related field.

The Michigan EIBC’s 2015 honorees included:


Businesses of the Year

Grid Logic, Inc. & Navitas Systems

Emerging Businesses of the Year 
Neuvokas Corporation & ZeroBase Energy

Employer of the Year

General Motors

Energy Innovators Hall of Fame

Amy Butler of OU INC

President’s Award

Invenergy LLC


Public Official of the Year

Mayor George Heartwell

About the Michigan EIBC:

The Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council (EIBC) is a business trade association representing companies in Michigan’s growing advanced energy sector. Michigan EIBC’s mission is to grow Michigan’s advanced energy economy by fostering opportunities for innovation and business growth and offering a unified voice in creating a business-friendly environment for the advanced energy industry in Michigan.


About OU INC:

OU INC is a SmartZone Business Accelerator, in collaboration with the City of Rochester Hills, Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC), and various industry partners. OU INC’s focus is in the Energy, Medical Device, and Information Technology sectors. It provides entrepreneurial resources and strategic business solutions for developing business ventures and accelerating ideas to market. OU INC fosters a healthy environment for the growth of new start-up companies, and provides support for existing entities through its facility and business development resources.