Recreation Center

Recreation and Athletics Center
569 Pioneer Drive
Rochester , MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-4REC (4732)
fax: (248) 370-4889
rec@oakland.edu

OU Heart Walk Initiatives

Oakland University is committed to making a positive impact surrounding the heart health of our university community. In collaboration with the American Heart Association, we strive to inform, empower, and engage the OU community so together we can make positive change towards our personal health.

OU is an official partner for the 2018 Heart Walk, which will be held on Saturday, May 12, at Wayne State University. OU’s goal is to register 16 teams for a total of 300 participants. We aim to raise $15,000 to further support heart disease and stroke research.

All individuals are welcome to participate in the Heart Walk, including family and friends. Even if you can’t attend the Heart Walk, we encourage all OU individuals to join a team to show their support for heart health over the upcoming months.

In addition to the Heart Walk, there are multiple on-campus engagement opportunities available for you to participate in throughout the semester and show your commitment to heart health. These are open to all OU faculty, staff and students.

For questions, please contact Becky Lewis (lewis236@oakland.edu) or Stephanie Willis (willis@oakland.edu).

Heart Walk at WSU
Join the Movement
May 12, 8 a.m.
Wayne State University

All members of the OU community, along with family and friends, are welcome to join us at Wayne State University for the 25th Anniversary Metro Detroit Heart Walk on Saturday, May 12. Festival grounds open at 8 a.m. with activities for all ages, including: a non-competitive 1 mile or 3 mile walk, timed 5K race, kid zone, fitness activities, and more!

Transportation from OU to WSU will be available. More information coming soon!

Join a Team
Several teams have been formed throughout OU, and we want you to join one! If you are interested in joining a team, please contact the specific team captain individually, and they will be happy to assist you. Or, click here to register under an OU Team today!

Can’t make it to the walk at Wayne State on May 12? No problem! We still encourage all members of the university community to join a team. Our goal is to increase engagement and participation throughout the upcoming months, whether that be through attending the walk or an on campus event, or supporting the cause financially.

Team Captains

OU Heart Walk Team Captains

Name

School/College/Department

Email

Alexander Johnston

College of Arts and Science Advising (Student Team)

ajjohnston@oakland.edu

Andrea Brodeianu

College of Arts and Science Advising

bordeian@oakland.edu

Ann Voorheis-Sargent

William Beaumont School of Medicine

voorheissargent@oakland.edu

Ashley Dewling

Golf Course

dewling@oakland.edu

Ashley Karas

School of Education and Human Services Counseling

dunham@oakland.edu

August Gunderson

School of Nursing

augustgunderson@oakland.edu

Becky Weber

Athletics

weber23@oakland.edu

Charlene Waldorf

Risk Management

waldorf@oakland.edu

Dana Carreon

OU Macomb

carreonglinsey@oakland.edu

Deb Wheeler

School of Engineering and Computer Science - Advising

djwheeler@oakland.edu

Destin Eddington

School of Business Administration - Advising

destineddington@oakland.edu

Eman Shamo

School of Engineering and Computer Science - Advising

eshammo@oakland.edu

Gabby Sokol

University Recreation and Well-Being

gesokol@oakland.edu

Jaclyn Fortier

School of Business Administration

jaclynfortier@oakland.edu

Jacqui Hencsie

Eye Research Institute

hencsie@oakland.edu

Jamie Emmert

Academic Affairs

jemmert@oakland.edu

Janail Silver

William Beaumont School of Medicine

silver@oakland.edu

John Ceblak

First Year Advising Center - Student Affairs

cebelak@oakland.edu

Kate Genord

Academic Affairs

kgenord@oakland.edu

Kath Borg

University Libraries

borg@oakland.edu

Katie Page

Athletics

Kelly Brault

Development and Alumni Relations

brault@oakland.edu

Kelsey Zuchowicz

William Beaumont School of Medicine

zuchowicz@oakland.edu

Krista Malley

Student Success and Experiential Learning

khmalley@oakland.edu

Kristen Rohrbeck

School of Education and Human Services Counseling

rohrbeck@oakland.edu

Maria Ebner-Smith

School of Health Sciences

ebnersmi@oakland.edu

Mariela Hristova

University Libraries

gunn@oakland.edu

Mark McCormic

Chartwells

mark.mccormic@compass-usa.com

Melissa Roe

Admissions - Academic Affairs

mroe@oakland.edu

Michelle Southward

School of Health Sciences

mdguy@oakland.edu

Nancy Foltz

Operations & Finance

foltz@oakland.edu

Nicole Thompson

OUPD - Operations & Finance

teske@oakland.edu

Sarah Wood

International Students and Scholars

swood@oakland.edu

Shaun Moore

e-Learning

samoore@oakland.edu

Stephanie Jurva

Center for Student Activities - Student Affairs

jurva@oakland.edu

Tiffany Ledonne Smith

School of Business Administration

tledonne@oakland.edu

Todd Nucci

Communications and Marketing

nucci@oakland.edu

Yvonne Plentis

Registrar - Academic Affairs

plentis@oakland.edu

OU Heart Walk Steering Committee

Name

School/College/Department

Email

Glenn McIntosh

Division of Student Affairs and Diversity

mcintosh@oakland.edu

Lori Marsh

Division of Student Affairs and Diversity

marsh2@oakland.edu

Becky Lewis

University Recreation & Well-Being - Student Affairs

lewis236@oakland.edu

Stephanie Willis

University Recreation & Well-Being - Student Affairs

willis@oakland.edu

Greg Jordan

University Recreation & Well-Being - Student Affairs

jordan@oakland.edu

Ron Watson

Human Resources

rwatson@oakland.edu

Ben Fielder

Development and Alumni Relations

benjaminfielder@oakland.edu

Stephanie Lee

Academic Affairs

lincoln@oakland.edu

Jean Ann Miller

Center for Student Activities - Student Affairs

jam@oakland.edu

Mandy Summers

Communications & Marketing

summers@oakland.edu

Janice Eaton

School of Health Sciences

eaton@oakland.edu

Rick Kelley

William Beaumont School of Medicine

kelley@oakland.edu

April Thomas-Powell

School of Nursing

thomaspo@oakland.edu


Become a Team Captain
Your role as a team captain is to:
  • Be a liaison between employees and the OU Heart Walk Committee.
  • Recruit team members.
  • Encourage participation and engagement in various well-being activities.
  • Lead by example (i.e. participate!).
  • Record and report out participation of your team.
  • Host fundraising events/opportunities.
  • Utilize and promote the AHA website for online donations, team registrations, and team engagement.
  • Track cash donations of $25 or more, as these individuals receive a free OU t-shirt. Team captains should note who has made a cash donation, and collect the individual’s name and shirt size. Shirts will then be distributed by a member of the Steering Committee. The Steering Committee will track online donations directly, and those individuals will also receive a shirt.
To become a team captain, visit this website to create a team under OU. Click ‘Create a Team’ in the upper right-hand corner of the webpage, then enter your information in the corresponding fields. Team captains will receive frequent emails with updates and general information pertaining to the Heart Walk and on campus initiatives, including-day to-day events and fundraising opportunities.

For further assistance in becoming a team captain for your department or student group, please contact Becky Lewis lewis236@oakland.edu or Stephanie Willis willis@oakland.edu.

Make a Donation
Donations on behalf of Oakland University can be made here. Individuals who make an online or in-person donation of $25 or more will receive an OU t-shirt!

Tax-deduction receipts for donations are available online. The American Heart Association has an option for a receipt that can then be printed out for tax records.
On-Campus Engagement Opportunities
Go Red Week (January 29 - February 2)
Through February 2, Various Locations

Celebrate Go Red Week January 29 - February 2 by participating in a variety of events, programs, and workshops that aim to support and positively impact your personal heart health journey.

Remaining Events:

Thursday, February 1
Nutrition Workshop: Fuel Your Heart - Recreation Center (2 p.m.) - Eating healthy is one of the most important ways to keep your heart and body working at its' best. Join us and learn about heart healthy alternatives made simple.

Eat Heart Healthy - Vandenberg Cafeteria - Looking for a heart healthy meal? Consider dining in the Vandenberg Cafeteria where the lunch and dinner menus will feature heart healthy meals. Also, stop by our nutrition table to learn more about cooking heart healthy, delicious meals at home or on the go.

Mobile Know Your Numbers - Library (11 a.m. - 1 p.m. and 6 p.m. - 8 p.m.) - It's always a good time to know your health numbers and what they mean to your personal health. Assessments will include heart rate, blood pressure, body mass index, body fat percentage, and glucose.

Friday, February 2
Go Red Dance Jam - Recreation Center 3-Court Gym (12:10 p.m. - 1:10 p.m.) - Celebrate the conclusion of Go Red Week by participating in our 2nd Annual Go Red Dance Jam! This fitness fusion class will have you dancing to Latin inspired songs, along with today's top hits with two different instructors. Be sure to wear red to this event!

Don’t Go Breakin’ My Heart (February 13 - 14)
February 13 - 14
Oakland Center

No heart breaks here! Stop by the tables in the Oakland Center to learn more about making healthy food choices, share a heart-healthy story or make a heart healthy-tribute to a friend or loved one.

Taste the Rainbow - Cooking Demonstration (March 14)
March 14, 12:10 p.m. - 1 p.m.
Recreation Center, David E. Herman Room

March is also National Nutrition Month! Freshen up your dinner plate at this cooking demonstration with antioxidant-packed foods. Your heart will thank you for it! Please sign up in advance here .

Hands-Only CPR (March 22)
March 22, 12:10 p.m. - 12:50 p.m.
Recreation Center, David E. Herman Room

Two steps can save a life! Learn or refresh your skills to prepare yourself for heart-related emergencies. Participants will learn the proper technique to perform hands-only CPR.

Oatmeal Reinvented - Cooking Demonstration (March 28)
March 28, 12:10 p.m. - 1 p.m.
Human Health Building, Room 2045

March is also National Nutrition Month! This is not your grandmother’s oatmeal. Learn fresh ideas at this cooking demonstration for using this heart-healthy grain for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Please sign up in advance here .

Walks with Campus Leaders (various April dates)

Elliott Tower at 12:10 p.m. (Rain Location: Rec Center Track)

Get your steps in for the day and walk for heart health! Join a variety of university leaders in a 30-minute walk across campus.

  • April 4 - Joi Cunningham and Pat Engel
  • April 9 - University Deans
  • April 12 - Student Affairs Directors
  • April 17 - OUPD
  • April 23 - President Pescovitz

8th Annual Employee Poker Walk (May 9)
May 9, kick off at 11:30 a.m., walk begins at 12 p.m.
Recreation Center

One of OU’s most popular employee events! Walk with your colleagues around campus for 1.5 miles of fun. 2018 promises new and exciting changes to the walk for extra excitement! This is a free event, open to all university faculty and staff to participate.