Faculty and Staff

Music
Faculty
Name Title Contact Information
Jackie Wiggins, Ed. D.Distinguished Professor of Music Education
Department Chair
Doctoral Program Coordinator
jwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2030

Deborah (Blair) VanderLinde, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Music Program Director
Music Education Program Coordinator
vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022 
Kerstin Allvin, M.M.Applied Instructor, Harpallvin@oakland.edu
Barbara Bland, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice blbland@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4309
Miles Brown, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music
Jazz Program Coordinator
brown239@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2805
Regina CarterArtist-in-Residence  
Jennifer Kincer Catallo, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music Educationkincerca@oakland.edu
Gregory Cunningham, Ed. D.Associate Professor of Music
Instrumental Program Coordinator
cunningh@oakland.edu
Dennis Curry, M.M.Applied Instructor, Carillon dncurry@oakland.edu
Drake Dantzler, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Opera Program Coordinator
dantzler@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2042
Alta Dantzler, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Voice
Special Lecturer, Music & Musical Theatre
amdantzl@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3019
Nadine DeLeury, M.M.Applied Instructor, Violoncellodeleury@oakland.edu
David Denniston, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, French Horndennisto@oakland.edu
Edith Diggory, D.M.A.Adjunct Assistant Professor, Voicediggory@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-3019
Sean Dobbins, B.M.Applied Instructor, Jazz Percussion
Lecturer, Music
dobbins@oakland.edu
Stephen Eisenhard, B.M.Applied Instructor, Voiceeisenhard@oakland.edu 
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M.Lecturer, World Musicpwfitzgi@oakland.edu
Nina Flanigan, M.A. Music Education Internship Supervisorflanigan@oakland.edu
Ben Fuhrman, D.M.A.Lecturer, Music Technology and Composition
Scott Gwinnell, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Applied Instructor, Jazz Piano
gwinnell@oakland.edu
John Hall, B.M.Applied Instructor, Guitarjehall@oakland.edu
Rebecca Happel, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Piano
Lecturer, Music
happel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2138
Jeffrey Heisler, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music
Applied Saxophone and Conducting
jaheisle@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2871
Terry Herald, M.M.Lecturer, Music, Audio Technologyherald@oakland.edu
Melissa Hoag, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Music Theory Program Coordinator
hoag@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4153
Bret Hoag, M.M.Applied Instructor, Guitar
Special Lecturer, Music
hoag2@oakland.edu
Sam JeyasingamApplied Instructor, Carnatic Percussionjeyasing@oakland.edu
Lois Kaarre, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
Keyboard Techniques
kaarre@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2913
David Kidger, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Western Music History Program Coordinator
kidger@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4308
Mark KiemeApplied Instructor, Jazz Saxophonekieme@oakland.edu
Kenneth Kroesche, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Brass Program Coordinator
kroesche@oakland.edu
James P. Lentini, D.M.A. Professor of Music
Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost 
jlentini@oakland.edu 
Shanda Lowery-Sachs, M.M.DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Viola 
Alan MacNair, M.A.Lecturer, Music 
Chamber Orchestra
macnair@oakland.edu
Melissa Maloney, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice maloney@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2943
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Applied Instructor, Percussion
Lecturer, Music
maslanka@oakland.edu 
Timothy Michling, M.M. Applied Instructor, Oboe michling@oakland.edu 
Zelijko (Bill) Milicevic, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Strings Pedagogy
milicevi@oakland.edu 
Stephanie Michaels, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice  
Michael Mitchell, D.M.A Doris & Paul Travis Professor of Music
Choral Program Coordinator 
mmitchel@oakland.edu
Jessica Payette, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology 
Master's Program Coordinator
payette@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3148
Elizabeth Rowin, M.M.Applied Instructor, Violin/Viola rowin@oakland.edu 
John Rutherford, M.M. Applied Instructor, Jazz Trombone  
Paul Schauert, Ph.D. Lecturer, World Music schauert@oakland.edu 
Marcus Schoon, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Bassoon
Lecturer, Music
schoon@oakland.edu 
Joseph Shively, Ed.D.Associate Professor of Music Educationshively@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2287
Victoria Shively, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory and History
shively2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3321
Gordon Simmons Applied Instructor, Trumpet simmons@oakland.edu 
Michele Soroka, M.M. Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory
mrsoroka@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2039
Amanda Sparfeld M.M.Applied Instructor, Flute sparfeld@oakland.edu 
Sharon Sparrow, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute sparrow@oakland.edu
Anthony Stanco, M.M.Applied Instructor, Jazz Trumpet 
George Stoffan, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Coordinator, Wind Program, Strings Program
stoffan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2038
Mark Stone, M.M.Associate Professor of Music
Coordinator, World Music Program, Percussion Program
stone@oakland.edu 
Kristen Tait, D.M.A. Special Lecturer, Musictait@oakland.edu
Jeremy Tarrant, M.M.Applied Instructor, Organtarrant@oakland.edu 
Tian Tian, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music 
Piano
 ttian@oakland.edu
Carly Uhrig, M.A. Lecturer, Music uhrig@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2032
Nadine Washington, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice (248) 370-2038 
John-Paul White, Perf. Cert. Professor of Music
Voice Program Coordinator
jpwhite@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2040
Phyllis White, Ph.D.Special Lecturer, Music pwhite@oakland.edu 
Spiros Xydas, M.M.Lecturer, Music sdxydas@oakland.edu 
I-Chen Yeh, D.M.A. Applied Instructor, Piano yeh@oakland.edu
Jocelyn Zelasko, M.M. Lecturer, Musicjmfekel@oakland.edu 
Jeffery Zook, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute zook@oakland.edu 
Theatre
Faculty
Jackie Wiggins, Ed.D.Department Chairjwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2030
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A. Theatre Program Director
Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Theatre
Lighting Design, History
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Robert Arbaugh, M.F.A.Lecturer, Theatre 
Acting, Intro
arbaugh@oakland.edu 
Jeremy Barnett, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Theatre Design and Technology Program Coordinator
Scenic Design
barnett@oakland.edu
(781) 910-7759
Joseph Beck, M.F.A.Technical Director
Lecturer, Theatre
Stagecraft
jbeck@oakland.edu
Rick CarverLecturer, Theatre 
Acting, Mime
carver@oakland.edu 
Brian Dambacher, M.F.A. Lecturer, Theatre Design and Technology  
Kitty Dubin, M.A.Lecturer, Theatre
Playwriting
dublin@oakland.edu
Michael DuncanLecturer, Theatre
Sound Design
duncan24@oakland.edu
Dana Gamarra, B.F.A. Lecturer, Theatre, Stage Managementdanagamarra@oakland.edu 
Milica Govich, M.F.A.Special Lecturer in Theatre
Acting Coach
Acting, Intro
vukasovi@oakland.edu 
Michael Gillespie, Ph.D.Professor Emeritus in Theatre 
Alexander Technique
gillespi@oakland.edu 
Anthony Guest, M.F.A.Associate Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing 
aguest@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3023
Phill HarmerStage Combatharmer@oakland.edu
Alissa HetznerVocal Coach, Musical Theatre
Vocal Coach 
hetzner@oakland.edu 
Christy HeussnerCostume Shop Assistant
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction 
heussner@oakland.edu
Jake Hooker, MPhilLecturer, Theatrehooker@oakland.edu
Christa Koerner, M.F.A.Costume Shop Supervisor
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction
koerner@oakland.edu
Lynnae Lehfeldt, M.F.A. Assistant Professor of Theatre 
Acting, Stage Voice
lehfeld2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2956
Leslie Littell, M.A.Special Lecturer in Theatre
Costume Design
littell@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4577
Fred Love, M.M.Associate Professor of Theatre
Musical Theatre Program Coordinator
Musical Theatre
love2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3010
Thomas Mahard, B.A.Special Lecturer in Theatre 
Intro
mahard@oakland.edu 
Julie Malloy, M.M.Lecturer
Acting the Song, Musical Theatre Workshop.
Vocal Coach, Musical Theatre 
jmalloy@oakland.edu 
Daniel Morency Scene Shop Assistant  
Jamie ReedVocal Coach, Musical Theatre 
Vocal Coach
 jrreed@oakland.edu
Cal Schwartz Costume Shop Assistant  
Karen Sheridan, M.F.A. Professor of Theatre
Acting Program Coordinator
Acting, Directing
sheridan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2045 
Thomas Suda Special Instructor in Theatre 
Acting Intro
suda@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2964
Roxanne Wellington Introwellington@oakland.edu
Bryan Wade, Ph.D.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Musical Theatre
Jocelyn Zelasko, M.M. Lecturer, Musicianship for Musical Theatre majorsjmfekel@oakland.edu
Dance
Faculty
NameTitle Contact Information 
Jackie Wiggins, Ed.D. Department Chairjwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2030
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.Dance Program Director
Associate Professor of Dance
Artistic Director, Patterson Rhythm Pace
patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Debi Bernstein-Siegel, M.A. Lecturer, Dance siegel@oakland.edu 
Rebecca CrimminsLecturer, Dance crimmins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3024
Laurie Eisenhower, M.F.A.Professor Emerita of Dance
Artistic Director, Eisenhower Dance
eisenhow@oakland.edu

Jennifer Harge, M.F.A.Lecturer, Dance 
Thayer Jonutz, M.F.A.Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Dance
Director, OU Repertory Dance Company
Co-Director/Co-Founder of Take Root
jonutz@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2804
Vladimir KalmskyAccompanist for Dance (Piano) kalmsky@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2049
Elizabeth Kattner, Ph.D.Assistant Professor of Dance
Dance History and Dance in Culture
kattneru@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2917
Lesley Kay Lecturer, Dance kay@oakland.edu 
Melanie King McGray, M.F.A.Lecturer, Dance melanieking@oakland.edu
Roberta Lucas, M.A.Special Lecturer in Dance Education rlucas@oakland.edu
Stephanie Pizzo Special Lecturer in Dance pizzo@oakland.edu
Michael ShimminAccompanist for Dance (Percussion) shimmin@oakland.edu 
Christina Tasco Special Lecturer in Dance 
Director, Oakland Dance Theatre
tasco@oakland.edu 
Ali Woerner, M.F.A. Assistant Professor of Dance
Co-Director/Co-Founder of Take Root
woerner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3604
Music Preparatory
Division
NameExpertiseContact Information 
Jackie Wiggins, Ed.D. Department Chair jwiggins@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2030
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Music Program Director vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022
Bibianne Yu, M.M. Music Preparatory Division Director byu@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2034
Cierra Mixdorf, M.M.Music Prep Division Business Manager cmixdorf@oakland.edu
Dorina Baciu, B.M.Violinbaciu@oakland.edu
Miles Brown, D.M.A.Double Bassbrown239@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2805
Viorica Burca, M.M.Pianovburca@oakland.edu 
Nadine DeLeury, M.M. Cello deleury@oakland.edu
Dave Dennison, D.M.A. French Horn dennisto@oakland.edu 
Yevgenya Derian, M.M.Piano yderian@oakland.edu
(313) 590-4748
Christine Divito, B.M.Early Childhood Music cldivito@oakland.edu
Sean Dobbins, B.M. Jazz Percussion dobbins@oakland.edu 
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M. Percussion pwfitzgi@oakland.edu 
Melanie Godo, B.M. Flute mmboose@oakland.edu 
Scott Gwinnell, M.M.Jazz Piano gwinnell@oakland.edu 
John Hall, B.M.Guitar jehall@oakland.edu 
Bret Hoag, M.M. Guitar hoag2@oakland.edu
(248) 622-3519
Sunkyeung Hong, M.M. Piano hsunkyeu@oakland.edu
(248) 761-6051
Stacey Jamison, M.M.Bassoonsljamiso@oakland.edu
(248) 953-3710
David JohnsonGuitar dejohns4@oakland.edu
(586) 610-0283
Lois Kaarre, M.M.Piano kaarre@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2913
Shinko Kondo, M.M. Beginning Pianoskondo2@oakland.edu
(248) 462-2726 
Man Ling Kwok, M.M. Piano mkwok@oakland.edu 
(248) 885-6798
Lea Lalla, B.M.Elementary Chorusmusprep@oakland.edu
Kim Louden, B.M. Voice kslozon@oakland.edu
(248) 227-6372
Kim Maes, M.M.Pianokmmaes@oakland.edu
(586) 549-1707
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Percussion maslanka@oakland.edu
(586) 264-5326
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M.Voice eawiggin@oakland.edu 
Blair Mellow, B.M.Voicebhmellow@oakland.edu
Tim Michling, M.M.Oboemichling@oakland.edu
Leslie Naeve, M.M. Voice lanaeve@oakland.edu
(586) 770-1504
Chris Napier, M.M. Trumpet napier@oakland.edu
(586) 662-0582
Heather Neuenschwander, B.M. Flute hneuensc@oakland.edu 
Luke PerzykTrombonelaperzyk@oakland.edu
Alex Sellers, B.M.Saxophone musprep@oakland.edu 
Nicole Shogren, M.M. Cello shogren@oakland.edu 
(248) 840-1409
George Stoffan, D.M.A. Clarinet stoffan@oakland.edu 
Mark Stone, M.M. World Percussion stone@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2044
Judith A. Teasdle, M.M.Violin/Viola teasdle@oakland.edu 
Alex WalkerBeginning Pianoawalker2@oakland.edu
Lauren WilsonTheory lewilso2@oakland.edu 
I-Chen Yeh, D.M.A.Pianoyeh@oakland.edu
Bibianne Yu, M.M.Pianobyu@oakland.edu 
Alexandra ZetyePianoazetye@oakland.edu
Emeriti
David DanielsProfessor Emeritus of Music 
John Dovaras Professor Emeritus of Music 
Laurie Eisenhower Professor Emerita of Dance 
Robert Facko Professor Emeritus of Music 
Michael GillespieProfessor Emerita of Theatre 
Carol HalstedProfessor Emerita of Dance
Adeline G. Hirschfeld-MedaliaProfessor Emerita of Theatre
Marvin D. HolladayProfessor Emeritus of Music
Flavio VaraniProfessor Emeritus of Music
Staff
Directory
NameTitle Email 
Jackie Wiggins Department Chair jwiggins@oakland.edu 
Michael MitchellMusic Program Director mmitchel@oakland.edu 
Kerro Knox Theatre Program Director knox@oakland.edu
Gregory PattersonDance Program Director patterso@oakland.edu 
Joseph BeckTechnical Directorjbeck@oakland.edu 
Katherine BoersmaProduction and Facilities Managerkeboersm@oakland.edu 
Jake DaleyBox Office Managerjdaley@startickets.com 
Shirleen DiFonzo Costume Shop Assistant difonzo@oakland.edu 
Gillian Ellis Associate Publicistgellis@oakland.edu 
Jaime Finn Office Assistant III finn@oakland.edu 
Jenna Fiorini Production Office Assistant jkfiorin@oakland.edu 
Manjit Gill Budget Manager gill@oakland.edu 
Megan HeraldAssistant Production and Facilities Manager meherald@oakland.edu 
Terry HeraldTechnical Coordinator, Sound Technician herald@oakland.edu 
Alissa HetznerAccompanist for Musical Theatre hetzner@oakland.edu 
Christy HeussnerCostume Shop Assistant heussner@oakland.edu 
Vladimir KalmskyAccompanist for Dance kalmsky@oakland.edu 
Christa Koerner Costume Shop Supervisorkoerner@oakland.edu 
Justin Kulman Assistant Technical Director kulman@oakland.edu 
Muriel Mader Administrative Assistant mader@oakland.edu 
Sherri MartillaOSO Orchestra Manager 
Cierra MixdorfMusic Prep Division Business Manager cmixdorf@oakland.edu
Lori NewmanOSO Librarian  
Matt Prentice Undergraduate Academic Adviser mwprenti@oakland.edu 
Chad RasorAssistant Technical Director 
Jamie ReedAccompanist for Musical Theatre  
Amanda Sabelhaus Accompanist for Voice sabelhau@oakland.edu 
Melodie SchuchmannUndergraduate Academic Adviser schuchma@oakland.edu 
Anne SelvaUndergraduate Adviser  
Michele SorokaOSO Management Assistant mrsoroka@oakland.edu 
Deneen StapletonOutreach Coordinator stapleto@oakland.edu 
Julie SteinmayerAccompanist for Voice staplema@oakland.edu 
Carly UhrigPublicist uhrig@oakland.edu 
Eun Young YooAccompanist for Voice yoo@oakland.edu 
I-Chen YehAccompanist for Instrumental yeh@oakland.edu 
Bibianne YuMusic Preparatory Division Director byu@oakland.edu 
Tatyana ZutAccompanist for Voice zut@oakland.edu 
Stanley J. ZydekAccompanist for Voice zydek@oakland.edu