College of Arts and Sciences
Dean's Office

Varner Hall, Room 217
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-2140
Fax: (248) 370-4280
cas@oakland.edu

Committees and Membership

Standing
Committees
BGS Faculty Council
NameE-mailDepartment
There are no members entered for this committee
Commencement Committee
NameE-mailDepartment
Amy Banes-Bercelibanesber@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Committee on Appointment and Promotion 2019-20
NameE-mailDepartment
Fay Hansen
Mathematics/Sciences
hansensm@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
John Corso
Humanities
corso@oakland.edu
Art & Art History
Jeff Chapman
Languages/Literatures
chapman4@oakland.edu
English
David Garfinkle
Mathematics/Sciences
garfinkl@oakland.eduPhysics
Harvey Qu
At-Large
qu@oakland.eduCommunication and Journalism
Jennifer Vonk
Social Sciences
vonk@oakland.edu
Psychology
Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex Officio
corcoran@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Committee on Instruction 2019-20
NameE-mailDepartment
Sandy Dykstra
Ex Officio
dykstra@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Amy Banes-Berceli
Ex Officio
banesber@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Lori Ostergaard
Languages/Literatures
ostergaa@oakland.eduWriting and Rhetoric
Megan Schoen
At-Large
meganschoen@oakland.eduWriting and Rhetoric
Cody Vanderkaay
Humanities
vanderkaay@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Elizabeth Shesko
At-Large
shesko@oakland.eduHistory
Doug Wendell
Mathematics/Sciences
wendell@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Chiaoning Su
Social Science
chiaoningsu@oakland.eduCommunication & Journalism 
Elections Committee 2019-20
NameE-mailDepartment
Sam Srauysrauy@oakland.eduCommunication
Angela Kaiserkaiser@oakland.edu
Social Work
Kuniko Nielsennielsen@oakland.eduLinguistics
Executive Committee 2019-20
NameE-mailDepartment
Anna Spagnuolo
Mathematics/Sciences
spagnuol@oakland.eduMathematics & Statistics
Henri Gooren
Social Science
gooren@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work and Criminal Justice
Aldona Pobutsky
Languages/Literatures
pobutsky@oakland.eduModern Languages & Literatures
John Halpin
Humanities
halpin@oakland.eduPhilosophy
Keith Berven
At Large
berven@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex-Officio
corcoran@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Graduate Council Representative
NameE-mailDepartment
There are no members entered for this committee
Graduate Studies Committee 2019-20
NameE-mailDepartment
Jacob Cayanus
Languages/Literatures
cayanus@oakland.eduCommunication and Journalism
Jessica Payette
Humanities
payette@oakland.eduSchool of Music, Theatre and Dance
Sandy Dykstra
Ex officio
dykstra@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Robert Stewart
Ex-officio
stewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
James Naus
Social Sciences
naus@oakland.eduHistory
Alison Powell
Languages/Literatures
powell@oakland.eduEnglish
Martha Escobar
Social Sciences
marthaescobar@oakland.eduPsychology
Thomas Raffel
Mathematics/Sciences
raffel@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
University Senate 2015-18 CAS membership
NameE-mailDepartment
Arik Dvir
Mathematics/Sciences
dvir@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Eddie Cheng
Mathematics/Sciences
echeng@oakland.eduMathematics and Statistics
Keith Berven
Mathematics/Sciences
berven@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Mary Craig
Mathematics/Sciences
mecraig@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Amy Banes-Bercelli
Mathematics/Sciences
banesber@oakland.eduMathematics and Statistics
Brad Roth
Mathematics/Sciences
roth@oakland.eduPhysics
Natalie Cole
Languages/Literatures
cole@oakland.eduEnglish
Jeffrey Insko
Languages/Literatures
insko@oakland.eduEnglish
Andrea Eis
Languages/Literatures
eis@oakland.eduEnglish
Niels Herold
Languages/Literatures
herold@oakland.eduEnglish
Dikka Berven    
Languages/Literatures
dberven@oakland.eduModern Languages and Literatures
Jennifer Law Sullivan
Languages/Literatures
law@oakland.eduModern Languages and Literatures
Mark Navin
Humanities
navin@oakland.edu
Philosophy
John Corso
Humanities
corso@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Ami Harbin
Humanities
aharbin@oakland.edu
Philosophy
Mark Rigstad
Humanities
rigstad@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Todd Estes
Humanities
estes@oakland.eduHistory
Henri Gooren
Social Sciences
gooren@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
David Dulio
Social Sciences
ddulio@oakland.eduPolitical Science
Jo Reger
Social Sciences
reger@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Jay Meehan
Social Sciences
meehan@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Alan Epstein
Political Science
epstein@oakland.eduPolitical Science
Graduate Studies
Committee
New Course
Guidelines

Please use this checklist and the coordinating documents as a resource in developing new courses as it is used by members of the Committee on Instruction in the new course review process. To ensure timely approval of course proposals, submitters are encouraged to review these criteria and incorporate them within their submissions.

New Course Proposal Guidelines

Example 1: Objectives

Example 2: Attendance Policy Example

Example 3: Participation Grades

Example 4: Grading Scales