Outstanding AP Award

Outstanding AP Award

To recognize the contributions of the Administrative Professional (AP) community, the AP Assembly established an annual Outstanding Administrative Professional Award in 1984. This award is given to an AP who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in his or her professional role. Oakland University provides a $1,500 stipend that accompanies this award.

2015 Outstanding AP of the Year: Angie Schmucker
Oakland University’s Outstanding Administrative Professional of the Year Award maintains a relatively succinct expectation of potential honorees – simply that they demonstrate outstanding achievement in their professional role.

While this is the case, there is nothing simple about what 2015 Outstanding AP of the Year Angie Schmucker has accomplished.

A 13-year Oakland employee who now serves as executive director of planned and annual giving, Schmucker has impressed colleagues, students, alumni, donors and many others with her heartfelt and steadfast dedication to the University; her vast knowledge and mastery of fundraising best practices; her innovative thinking; and her willingness to mentor, support, collaborate with, and acknowledge the talents and contributions of others in the campus community.

During her career, Schmucker has secured millions of dollars to support the programs and initiatives of academic units and departments across the University. In 2014 alone, she stewarded $9 million in planned giving cash and more than $2 million in future gifts.

“There is not a school, college or division on campus that hasn't been improved by a donation secured by Angie,” one colleague wrote.

She has helped create countless academic scholarships, thereby opening doors of opportunity to students who might not otherwise be able to pursue a college degree.

Schmucker and members of her team have created numerous additional support initiatives as well, including the Student Philanthropy Committee, the Senior Class Gift, the Black and Gold Loyalty Society, the Planned Giving Vision Society, and the Parent/Family Giving Campaign.

Oakland’s retired faculty and staff have certainly not escaped her caring attention, as evidenced by her having played a central role in the creation of the Pioneer Club, which works to keep OU retirees informed and involved in campus events. In this way, retirees have a means to stay involved in the life of the University and remain connected with campus news, current employees and fellow retirees.

On a managerial level, Schmucker has accomplished a great deal during her time at OU. She oversaw the merging of planned and annual giving operations on campus, for example, which not only resulted in increased donations, but also reengaged thousands of former OU faculty, staff, alumni and friends who had not been contacted in years.

She is also active off campus, having maintained prestigious Certified Fundraising Executive status since 2007, as well as having maintained membership in the Southeast Michigan Planned Giving Roundtable, the Partnership for Philanthropic Planning, CASE, and the nonprofit mentoring organization Women of Tomorrow.

“Angie Schmucker is long overdue for recognition of the work that she has done to advance this University,” a colleague wrote. “She is a diplomat who can turn any situation into a positive one, a great communicator both internally and externally, and is so dedicated to OU that she may possibly bleed gold.”

Schmucker and her family are season ticket holders for both basketball games and Meadow Brook Theatre performances. One of her nominators said that she exemplifies what it means to be a proud employee and an enthusiastic community ambassador.

“Perhaps the most important quality exhibited by Angie is her positive and optimistic
attitude,” one of numerous nominators wrote. “Angie recognizes the value and importance of the role of the University for students, faculty, staff and the community.”

Among countless additional accolades on Schmucker’s behalf was the following praise: “Angie's fundraising efforts … are a reflection of where we have been as a University, an acknowledgement of where we are today and, most importantly, where we are going.”

A celebratory reception honoring Schmucker’s accomplishments and dedication to the University will take place in Banquet Room A of Oakland Center on Tuesday, June 2. All are welcome to attend the event, which is set from 3-5 p.m.

Past Recipients
Rosalind Andreas, 1984
Patrick Nicosia, 1985
Joan Stinson, 1986
Elaine Chapman Moore, 1987
Clair McVety, 1988
Jean Ann Miller, 1989
Arthur Griggs, 1990
Thomas Kirchner, 1991
Elizabeth Millwood, 1992
Ron Kevern, 1993
Virginia Allen, 1994
David Herman, 1995
Lynn Hockenberger, 1996
Katie Kazarian, 1997
Felecia Bumpus, 1998
Glenn McIntosh, 1999
Dawn Aubry, 2000
Vicki Larabell, 2001
Leonard Brown, 2002
Gerald Compton, 2003
Sheryl Klemanski, 2004
George Preisinger, 2005
Melvin Gilroy, 2006
Tricia Westergaard, 2007
Mila Padgett, 2008
Jennifer Gilroy, 2009
Samuel Lucido, 2010
Steve Shablin, 2011
Eleanor Reynolds, 2012
Peggy Cooke, 2013
Greg Jordan, 2014
Angie Schmucker, 2015