Menu Menu
301 Engineering Center
115 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(map)
Dean's Office: (248) 370-2217
Academic Advising: (248) 370-2201
SECSDean@oakland.edu
Meet the Department Faculty

Department of Mechanical Engineering
402 Engineering Center
(248) 370-2210 
Fax: (248) 370-4416

Mechanical Engineering

Welcome to the Mechanical Engineering Department

 

Mechanical Engineering is the discipline that applies the principles of engineering, physics, and materials science for the design, analysis, manufacturing, and maintenance of mechanical systems. It is the branch of engineering that involves the design, production, and operation of machinery.

 

advisory board

The Mechanical Engineering and Manufacturing Engineering Option Advisory Board assists the department in enhancing its educational and research programs and ensuring their relevance to current and emerging technological needs. Board members are:

  • Ray Kuczera, Ph.D., Vice President of Engineering, GKN Driveline
  • Yucong Wang, Ph.D., Surface Engineering and Tribology Center, General Motors Powertrain
  • Casilda de Benito, Ph.D., Innovation, Chrysler Group LLC
  • Ren-Jye Yang, Ph.D., Senior Tech Leader, Optimization and Robustness, Ford
  • Dennis Corrigan, Ph.D., Research Professor, Wayne State University
  • David Sonntag, MSc., Manager of Capital Projects, Detroit Edison Company
Department Faculty
Brian P. Sangeorzan, Ph.D.Brian P. Sangeorzan, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Office: 402 EC
(248) 370-2236
Fax: (248) 370-4416
bsangeor@oakland.edu



Gary Barber, Ph.D. Gary Barber, Ph.D. 
Professor
Office: 326 EC
(248) 370-2184
Fax: (248) 370-4416
barber@oakland.edu
Brenda BondBrenda Bond
Administrative Assistant
Office: 402 EC
(248) 370-2210
Fax: (248) 370-4416
bond2@oakland.edu
Yin-ping (Daniel) Chang, Ph.D.Yin-ping (Daniel) Chang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 418 EC
(248) 370-2209
Fax: (248) 370-4416
ychang@oakland.edu
Website
Sergey F. Golovashchenko, Ph. D.
Associate Professor
Office: 318 EC
(248) 370-4051
Fax: (248) 370-4416
golovash@oakland.edu
Randy J. Gu, Ph.D.

Randy J. Gu, Ph.D.
Professor 
Office: 412 EC
(248) 370-2235
Fax: (248) 370-4416
gu@oakland.edu
Website 

Laila Guessous, Ph.D.

Laila Guessous, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 404 EC
(248) 370-2183
Fax: (248) 370-4416
Guessous@oakland.edu
Website

Ching L. Ko, Ph.D.Ching L. Ko, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 420 EC
(248) 370-2694
Fax: (248) 370-4261
ko@oakland.edu
Christopher J. Kobus, Ph.D.Christopher J. Kobus, Ph.D.
Director of Outreach and Recruitment, 
Associate Professor 
Office: 301 EC
(248) 370-2489
Fax: (248) 370-4416
cjkobus@oakland.edu
Website
Michael A. Latcha, Ph.D.Michael A. Latcha, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 416 EC
(248) 370-2203
Fax: (248) 370-4261
latcha@oakland.edu
Website
Keyu Li, Ph.D.Keyu Li, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 414 EC
(248) 370-2862 
Fax: (248) 370-4261
kli@oakland.edu
Zissimos P. Mourelatos, Ph.D.Zissimos P. Mourelatos, Ph.D.
Professor, John F. Dodge Chair of Engineering
Office: 402D EC
(248) 370-2686
Fax: (248) 370-4416
mourelat@oakland.edu
Sayed A. Nassar, Ph.D.Sayed A. Nassar, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor, 
Director of FAJRI
Office: 348 EC
(248) 370-3781
Fax: (248) 370-4416
nassar@oakland.edu
Website
J. David Schall, Ph.D.J. David Schall, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 328 EC
(248) 370-2870
Fax: (248) 370-4416
schall2@oakland.edu
Website
Xia Wang, Ph.D.Xia Wang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: 402 EC
(248) 370-2224
Fax: (248) 370-4416
wang@oakland.edu
Website
nophoto-115.jpg
Zhijun Wu
Visiting Assistant Professor
FAJRI
246 Dodge Hall
(248)370-3782
(248)370-4416
wu@oakland.edu
LianXiang Yang, Ph.D.
LianXiang Yang, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 410 EC
(248) 370-2283
Fax: (248) 370-4416
yang2@oakland.edu
Website
nophoto-115.jpgPeng Zhao
Assistant Professor
Office: 330 EC
(248) 370-2214
pengzhao@oakland.edu