Menu Menu

Oakland Symphony Orchestra

The resident professional orchestra of Oakland University traces its tradition of excellence back to 1976. Each season it provides Southeast Michigan with outstanding performances of the finest symphonic repertoire.

Please  click here to download  the 2015-16 Oakland Symphony Orchestra season brochure!

Oakland Symphony Orchestra

Concert I
Sunday, October 4, 2015 at 3 p.m.

The 2015-16 Oakland Symphony Orchestra season begins with an exciting program including Festive Overture, op. 96 by Dmitry Shostakovich; Mr. Tambourine Man; Seven Poems of Bob Dylan by John Corigliano, with guest soprano soloist, Katherine Calcamuggio; andSymphony No. 4, op. 36 by Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Gregory Cunningham, conductor. 
$20 general, $10 students    Purchase Tickets
Varner Recital Hall

Concert II
Sunday, November 22, 2015 at 3 p.m.

The Oakland Symphony Orchestra will offer a program to includeRussian Easter Overture, op. 36 by Nicolai Rimsky Korsakov; Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, op. 73 (Emperor) by Ludwig van Beethoven with guest piano soloist, Dr. Tian Tian (new OU faculty member); and Symphony No. 1, op. 9 by Samuel Barber. 
Gregory Cunningham, conductor
$20 general, $10 students    Purchase Tickets 
Varner Recital Hall 

Concert III 19th Annual David Daniels Young Artists Concert
Sunday, February 14, 2016
 at 3 p.m.

The Oakland Symphony Orchestra will offer a program to include Passacaglia, op. 1by Anton Webern and Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, op. 38 (Spring) by Robert Schumann.  The David Daniels Young Artists Concert, an annual highlight of our season, will feature solo performances by the winners of the 2015-16 Oakland University Concerto Competition
Gregory Cunningham, conductor

$20 general, $10 students    Purchase Tickets
Varner Recital Hall     

Concert IV

Tuesday, April 5, 2016 at 7:30 p.m.

The Oakland Symphony Orchestra will perform  Suite from Henry V by William Walton (arranged by Muir Mathieson). The OSO and the Oakland Symphony Chorus (Michael Mitchell, conductor) will also present  Alexander Nevsky by Sergei Prokofiev.
Gregory Cunningham, conductor
$20 general, $10 students     Purchase Tickets
Orchestra Hall in Detroit
the Conductor
Gregory Cunningham, conductor

Gregory Cunningham is an Associate Professor of Music at Oakland University, where he serves as Director of Bands, conducts the Oakland University Wind Symphony, and teaches orchestral/wind conducting and literature at the graduate and undergraduate levels. 

He is also a frequent guest conductor of honor orchestras and bands throughout the Midwest and he serves as a guest conductor and clinician for many high school and middle school ensembles throughout the United States.