Faculty Recognition

Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine honors faculty members for excellence in the achievement of our educational mission and offers four awards in recognition of faculty teaching, innovation, research and service.

2019 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Stefanie Attardi, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Science Educator - Dan Nguyen, M.D.
  • Excellence in Educational Research - Victoria Roach, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service - Claudio Cortes, DVM, Ph.D. 
faculty awards

Honors Convocation 2019

Excellence in Educational Research Award

Stephanie Swanberg, MSI, Chair of the Faculty Recognition Committee, presents Victoria Roach, Ph.D., assistant professor of anatomy in the Department of Foundational Medical Studies with the Excellence in Education Research Award at the OUWB Honors Convocation.

2014 - 2018 Awardees

2018 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Sarah Lerchenfeldt, Pharm.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Kathy Schlecht, D.O.
  • Excellence in Service - Misa Mi, Ph.D., MLIS

2017 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Tracey Taylor, Ph.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - Misa Mi, Ph.D., MLIS
  • Excellence in Service -  Stephanie Swanberg, MSI

2016 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Kara Sawarynski, Ph.D. and Samia Ragheb, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Bhavinkumar Dalal, M.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - Victoria Lucia, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service -  Asha Shajahan, M.D., MBA

2015 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Inaya Hajj Hussein, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Sunitha Santhakumar, M.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - Jason Wasserman, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service -  Stephen Loftus, Ph.D., DDS

2014 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Mark Hankin, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Nelia Afonso, M.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - David Rodenbaugh, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service -  Richard Sabina, Ph.D.