Office of the Dean

O’Dowd Hall, Room 428
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-3634

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

About the Faculty

Faculty Affairs and CEME
Our faculty members will encourage our students in transdisciplinary scholarship and serve as student mentors to prepare them as physicians of the future. Community physicians with faculty affiliations will also be partners with the School of Medicine, serving as mentors and role models to support our medical students who will serve diverse communities through the faithful execution of our mission.

Faculty Affairs

Faculty Affairs has a broad range of responsibilities including:

  • Assisting faculty with professional career development, supporting faculty careers from appointment through retirement.
  • Developing, interpreting, communicating and administering University and School of Medicine policies related to faculty employment.
  • Serving as the official resources for faculty data.
  • Overseeing and facilitating proactive administration of all aspects of policies and processes relating to faculty recruitments and appointments, reappointments and promotions and other faculty employment actions.
  • Ensuring the auditing and compliance of the School of Medicine's Meaningful Participation program.
  • Updating faculty publications such as the Faculty Handbook, Bylaws of the Faculty and the Constitution.


Center for Excellence in Medical Education
The mission of Center for Excellence in Medical Education (CEME) is to foster a culture of excellence among the OUWB School of Medicine basic science and clinical faculty members through focused faculty development activities with a shared commitment to better educate tomorrow’s physicians.

MED-12139_TeachingResearch-INFO_20160208102512_46073 appointment information button

faculty guidelines button faculty resources button

Faculty Recognition Awards

The Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine honors faculty members for excellence in the achievement of our educational mission and offers four awards in recognition of faculty teaching, innovation, research, and service.

Nominations Information

Nominations are accepted and reviewed by the Committee on Faculty Recognition on an annual basis and awards will be presented at the OUWB Honors Convocation.

Any faculty, student, staff, or community partner may nominate a faculty member for an award in each of the following categories. Please note that self-nominations are NOT accepted.
  • Nominations Form
  • Nominations Deadline: Monday, January 14, 2019
  • For questions contact: Stephanie Swanberg, Chair of the Faculty Recognition Committee, at (248) 370-3776 or

These awards reflect the nominee's achievements in the 2018 calendar year (January - December 2018), although nominations for achievements spanning several years will also be accepted. You will be required to write a minimum of 1500 characters (~250 words) in your nomination letter. As such, it is recommended that you craft your recommendation outside the form, then copy and paste your response when done. 

Award Information

Foundational Medical Studies Educator of the Year

Clinical Educator of the Year

Excellence in Educational Research Award

Excellence in Service Award

2018 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Sarah Lerchenfeldt, Pharm.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Kathy Schlecht, D.O.
  • Excellence in Service - Misa Mi, Ph.D., MLIS

2017 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Tracey Taylor, Ph.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - Misa Mi, Ph.D., MLIS
  • Excellence in Service - Stephanie Swanberg, MSI

2016 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Kara Sawarynski, Ph.D. and Samia Ragheb, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Bhavinkumar Dalal, M.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - Victoria Lucia, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service - Asha Shajahan, M.D., M.B.A.

2015 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Inaya Hajj Hussein, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Sunitha Santhakumar, M.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - Jason Wasserman, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service - Stephen Loftus, Ph.D., D.D.S.

2014 Awardees

  • Basic Science Educator - Mark Hankin, Ph.D.
  • Clinical Educator - Nelia Afonso, M.D.
  • Educational Innovation/Research - David Rodenbaugh, Ph.D.
  • Excellence in Service - Richard Sabina, Ph.D.