Menu Menu

About Graduate Study

About Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning
 
Mission 

520 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2700
Fax: (248) 370-3226
gradstudy@oakland.edu

HOURS

Monday – Friday
8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Dean
Claudia Petrescu
Ph.D.

Executive Director
Claire Rammel

Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning is dedicated to academic excellence in graduate education at Oakland University and advocates for support for graduate programs and graduate students.

Role

As the administrative arm of Graduate Council, Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning has responsibility for ensuring the highest standards in student admission; for providing academic records management, academic standing and degree services for currently enrolled students; and for the authorship, maintenance and oversight of graduate policy and standards that promote high quality in educational programs and curricula.

Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning works with faculty, academic departments, and the deans of the College and schools to recruit and develop a graduate student body across the disciplines and professional fields reflective of academic strength and the University’s commitment to diversity, and designs programs to support student achievement and success. 

Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning also partners with departments and University governance in program review, accreditation, registration, and evaluation efforts conducted locally and by external authorities, and thereby contributes to the ongoing campus-wide commitment to retention.

Profile of Responsibilities

COMMITMENT TO QUALITY
Graduate Council – Academic Policies and Procedures
Graduate Program and Curriculum
Course Catalog and Development
Graduate Academic Program Review
Graduate Student Progress, Retention and Degree Completion
Graduate Academic Faculty and Program Services

GRADUATE RECRUITMENT AND ADMISSION
Prospective Graduate Students
Graduate Recruitment
Graduate Admission Services
Graduate Guest Services

GRADUATE STUDENT PROGRESS
Graduate Readmission & Program Transfer
Plan of Study
Transfer of Graduate Credit
Petition of Exception
Graduate Assistants & Fellowships
Leave of Absence
Academic Standing, Probation and Dismissal

GRADUATION
Dissertation and Thesis Service
Manage the application to graduate
Approve Final Graduate Degree Audits

Other Resources
Federal and State Notices

GS Staff Tools

Test
Dean of Graduate Education
Claudia PetrescuClaudia Petrescu Ph.D.

The dean provides academic leadership and vision in the advancement of graduate education through the integrated process of strategic planning within Academic Affairs.  

Dr. Petrescu serves as the administrative leader reporting to the provost
and president on the expansion of graduate academic programs; provides support and direction in academic planning initiatives, while monitoring the quality of graduate programs in a manner consistent with the University mission.

The dean reports directly to the provost and is responsible for overseeing Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning. Graduate Study and Lifelong Learning is responsible for ensuring the highest standards, quality and integrity for graduate education at Oakland University.

Dean Petrescu joined Oakland University in August 2015. She received her doctorate in Public Administration from University of Pittsburgh and graduate degrees from Duquesne University, Babes-Bolyai University (Romania), and the National School of Public Administration and International Relations (Romania). Prior to joining Oakland University, Dr. Petrescu served at Eastern Michigan University in several administrative roles including director of EMU's National Leadership Alliance program, faculty associate for policies and procedures for the Graduate School, and assistant to the Dean of College of Arts and Sciences for strategic planning. Her research focuses on nonprofit management. Dr. Petrescu holds the rank of professor in the Department of Political Science.
Staff Directory

520 O'Dowd Hall
2200 N. Squirrel Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4401

GRADUATE ADMISSION SERVICES
(248) 370-2700Fax: (248) 370-4114
Name
E-mail
Alichev, Svetoslavsnaliche@oakland.edu
Redwine, Deliaredwine@oakland.edu
Carr, Lateachaallums@oakland.edu
Coughlin, Lynncoughlin@oakland.edu
Dotson, Dawndotson@oakland.edu
VanderWijst-Puzzuoli, Truusvanderwi@oakland.edu

For general application/admission process questions please use the Graduate Admissions Contact Form.

If you have questions regarding your program of interest, please contact the program coordinator/director. 

STUDENT AND FACULTY SERVICES
(248) 370-2700Fax: (248) 370-3226
NameE-mail
Booker, Danielledrbooker@oakland.edu
Delaney, Juliedelaney@oakland.edu
Folken, Lynettefolken@oakland.edu
Janssen, Barbjanssen@oakland.edu
Khattree, Nidhinkhattre@oakland.edu
McCoy, Estheremccoy@oakland.edu
Mitchell, Evonnemitchel3@oakland.edu
Rammel, Clairerammel@oakland.edu
Rowley, Katherinekzrowley@oakland.edu
Petrescu, Claudia
cpetrescu@oakland.edu
Smith, Michellemcsmith@oakland.edu
Truxton, Sharontruxton@oakland.edu
Tucker, Tinatinatucker@oakland.edu
Zheng, NingNingnfu@oakland.edu