College of Arts and Sciences
Dean's Office

Varner Hall, Room 217
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-2140
Fax: (248) 370-4280
cas@oakland.edu

Committees and Membership

Standing
Committees
BGS Faculty Council
NameE-mailDepartment
There are no members entered for this committee
Commencement Committee
NameE-mailDepartment
Robert Stewartstewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Committee on Appointment and Promotion 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Fay Hansen
Mathematics/Sciences
hansensm@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Daniel Clark
Humanities
djclark@oakland.edu
History
Kathleen Pfeiffer
Languages/Literatures
pfeiffer@oakland.edu
Modern Languages and Literatures
David Garfinkle
Mathematics/Sciences
garfinkl@oakland.eduPhysics
Kellie Hay
At-Large
hay@oakland.eduCommunication and Journalism
Dorothy Nelson
Social Sciences
danelson@oakland.edu
Sociology, Anthropology, Criminal
Justice and Social Work
Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex Officio
corcoran@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Committee on Instruction 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Sandy Dykstra
Ex Officio
dykstra@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Robert Stewart
Ex Officio
stewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Lori Ostergaard
Languages/Literatures
ostergaa@oakland.eduWriting and Rhetoric
Robert Sidelinger
At-Large
sideling@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Melissa Hoag
Humanities
hoag@oakland.eduMusic, Theatre and Dance
Kapila Castoldi
At-Large
castoldi@oakland.eduPhysics
David Garfinkle
Mathematics/Sciences
garfinkl@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Graham Cassano
Social Science
cassano@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Elections Committee 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Sam Srauysrauy@oakland.eduCommunication
Angela Kaiserkaiser@oakland.edu
Social Work
Kuniko Nielsennielsen@oakland.eduLinguistics
Executive Committee 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Anna Spagnuolo
Mathematics/Sciences
spagnuol@oakland.eduMathematics & Statistics
Henri Gooren
Social Science
gooren@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work and Criminal Justice
Aldona Pobutsky
Languages/Literatures
pobutsky@oakland.eduModern Languages & Literatures
John Halpin
Humanities
halpin@oakland.eduPhilosophy
Keith Berven
At Large
berven@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex-Officio
corcoran@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Graduate Council Representative
NameE-mailDepartment
There are no members entered for this committee
Graduate Studies Committee 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Adina Schneeweis
Languages/Literatures
schneewe@oakland.eduCommunication and Journalism
Wendy Johnson
Social Sciences
wljohnson@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Sandy Dykstra
Ex officio
dykstra@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Robert Stewart
Ex-officio
stewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Don Matthews
Social Sciences
matthews@oakland.eduHistory
Lan Jiang
Mathematics/Sciences
jiang23@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Melissa McDonald
Social Sciences
mmmcdonald@oakland.eduPsychology
Evan Trivedi
Mathematics/Sciences
trivedi@oakland.eduChemistry
University Senate 2015-18 CAS membership
NameE-mailDepartment
Arik Dvir
Mathematics/Sciences
dvir@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Eddie Cheng
Mathematics/Sciences
echeng@oakland.eduMathematics and Statistics
Keith Berven
Mathematics/Sciences
berven@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Mary Craig
Mathematics/Sciences
mecraig@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Amy Banes-Bercelli
Mathematics/Sciences
banesber@oakland.eduMathematics and Statistics
Brad Roth
Mathematics/Sciences
roth@oakland.eduPhysics
Natalie Cole
Languages/Literatures
cole@oakland.eduEnglish
Jeffrey Insko
Languages/Literatures
insko@oakland.eduEnglish
Andrea Eis
Languages/Literatures
eis@oakland.eduEnglish
Niels Herold
Languages/Literatures
herold@oakland.eduEnglish
Dikka Berven    
Languages/Literatures
dberven@oakland.eduModern Languages and Literatures
Jennifer Law Sullivan
Languages/Literatures
law@oakland.eduModern Languages and Literatures
Mark Navin
Humanities
navin@oakland.edu
Philosophy
John Corso
Humanities
corso@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Ami Harbin
Humanities
aharbin@oakland.edu
Philosophy
Mark Rigstad
Humanities
rigstad@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Todd Estes
Humanities
estes@oakland.eduHistory
Henri Gooren
Social Sciences
gooren@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
David Dulio
Social Sciences
ddulio@oakland.eduPolitical Science
Jo Reger
Social Sciences
reger@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Jay Meehan
Social Sciences
meehan@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Alan Epstein
Political Science
epstein@oakland.eduPolitical Science
Graduate Studies
Committee
Graduate Studies Committee Minutes 2017-2018

To review Graduate Studies Committee minutes from prior years, please contact Aimee Symington at 248.370.2141 or via email at symingto@oakland.edu. 
New Course
Guidelines

Please use this checklist and the coordinating documents as a resource in developing new courses as it is used by members of the Committee on Instruction in the new course review process. To ensure timely approval of course proposals, submitters are encouraged to review these criteria and incorporate them within their submissions.

New Course Proposal Guidelines

Example 1: Objectives

Example 2: Attendance Policy Example

Example 3: Participation Grades

Example 4: Scales