Department of Biological Sciences

Dodge Hall Rm 375
118 Library Dr
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3550
fax: (248) 370-4225

Seminars

For more information: (248) 370-3550.

Upcoming Seminars

Regan Miller
Targeting the chemotherapy-resistant population of Acute Myeloid Leukemia
Masters Thesis
Mentor: Gerard Madlambayan
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Physiology Candidate #4
Novel insights into platelet functionalization of fibrinogen by The Triggering Receptor Expressed in Myeloid Cells (TREM) - Like transcript (TLT)-1
Thursday, February 20, 2020
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Previous Seminars

Physiology Candidate #3
Developmental ROS target histone methylation to individualize stress resistance and lifespan
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Physiology Candidate #2
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Unveiling the mystery of ufmylation in heart failure
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Physiology Candidate #1
The emerging roles of organelle contact sites in metabolic homeostasis
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Biochemistry Candidate #4
Epigenetic control by RNA pol II kinase, CDK12, in transcription, translation and cancer
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Biochemistry Candidate #3
Epigenetic regulation of neuronal maturation during development
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Biochemistry Candidate #2
From yeast to human: Autophagy regulation by RNA decay
Thursday, November 21, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Biochemistry Candidate #1
Dissecting mRNA translation programs in cancer
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Sara Blumer-Schuette
C-4 Review
Microbial physiology to the extreme: From heat stable pili to acid tolerant enzymes
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Gary Gilbert M.D.

Chief of Hematology and Oncology, VA Boston Healthcare System
Associate Professor of Medicine, Havard Medical School
Clinical anti-factor VIII antibodies: A costly difference between platelets and phospholipid vesicles
Thursday, October 17, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Sang Hoon Rhee
C-2 Review
The gut-brain axis and mucosal immune responses
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
104 MSC
12:00-1:00 PM

Luis G. Villa-Diaz
C-2 Review
Integrin α6, common denominator of stem cells
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
104 MSC
12:00-1:00 PM

Scott Tiegs
Full Professor Review
Ecosystem resource subsidies in the anthropocene: Lessons from forests and freshwater\
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
104 MSC

Jeff Medley
Doctoral Dissertation Defense
Regulation of centrosome duplication in Caenorhabditits elegans embryos
Mentor: Mi Hye Song
Friday, September 20, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Seema Khurana
Actin binding proteins function as sensors of cellular stress and as pathophysiological regulators of inflammation
Professor
University of Houston
Baylor College of Medicine
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
203 DH

Ryan McWhinnie
Acclimation and mass scaling effects on metabolic thermal performance curves depend on respiratory proxy in an aquatic frog
Master's Thesis
Mentor: Thomas Raffel
Friday, July 12, 2019
3:00-4:00 PM
104 MSC

Justin Kulchycki
Identifying the genomic switch for cell type-specific B4galnt2 expression in mice: a deep learning approach
Master's Thesis
Mentor: Randal Westrick
Friday July, 12 2019
12:00-1:00
104 MSC

Anton Mahama
Domain-level analysis of low complexity regions: an Archaea example
Master's Thesis
Mentor: Fabia Battistuzzi
Thursday, July 11, 2019
12:00-1:00
104 MSC

Asma MAM Khan
Role of type IV pili in adhesion of the extreme thermophile, Caldicellulosiruptor bescii to plant biomass.
Doctoral Dissertation Proposal
Mentor: Sara Blumer-Schuette
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
12:00-1:00 PM
203 DH